ABOUT US - Lions Clubs Dun Laoghaire

Dun Laoghaire Lions Club
Dun Laoghaire Lions Club
Go to content


Mission Statement

To create and foster a spirit of understanding among all people for humanitarian needs by providing voluntary services through community involvement and international cooperation
We Serve

The Dun Laoghaire Lions Club was formed in 1969 and is now in its 52nd  year of dedicated service to the community within the greater Dun Laoghaire borough. There are currently 35 members in the Club who are active in both fundraising and services.

Dun Laoghaire Lions Club is affiliated to Lions Club International, which is the world’s largest service and charitable organisation.
The Lions are a non-profitable voluntary organisation where every euro and cent goes directly to the charity or service for which it has been raised. All administration expenses are met by the members themselves.

We, the members of the Dun Laoghaire Lions Club, are just ordinary people, men and women, from your community who come together to improve the quality of life for people who find themselves in a less fortunate situation than ourselves.

  SINCE 1969
Lions Club International
Lions Club International was formed in 1917 by a Chicago business leader, Melvin Jones, who wondered what would happen if people put their talents to work improving their communities. As a result of his inspiration, 1.35 million men and women today are members of the world’s largest service club association – 17,000 of them based in 900 Lions Clubs in the UK and Ireland.

Club Officers 2022/2023
President: Eamonn Sampson
Immediate Past President: Veronica Deignan
Vice President: Eamonn McEvoy
Secretary: Veronica Deignan
Treasurer: Maureen Gibson

  Happy to be of service to the Dun Laoghaire community   
Melvin Jones Fellowship
Lions International recognizes outstanding individuals by bestowing on them an honour that is named after its founder, Melvin Jones. This Fellowship is the highest honour bestowed by Lions International to acknowledge an individual's dedication to humanitarian service. The recipient of this honour becomes a model because of the exemplary service to his/her club and the community for which it serves.

We are very proud to have within our membership a large number of individuals who have received the Melvin Jones Fellowship.

Life Member
A Lions Club member who has maintained active membership as a Lion for 20 or more years and has rendered outstanding service to his club and his community.
Past presidents

1969/1970 Gerry O’Mahony        
1970/1971 Antonio Forte RIP
1971/1972 Bill Harvey RIP
1972/1973 Rodney Spence
1973/1974 Don O’Shaughnessy
1974/1975 Basil Barrett RIP
1975/1976 Alan Watson
1976/1977 Joe Lynch RIP
1977/1978 Joe Pankhurst RIP
1978/1979 Des Mongan RIP
1979/1980 Roy Harran RIP
1980/1981 Finbarr O’Donovan
1981/1982 Ivor Moloney
1982/1983 Derek King RIP
1983/1984 Jim McDonagh
1984/1985 Derek King RIP
1985/1986 Liam Murphy
1986/1987 John Bowtell RIP
1987/1988 Bill Stokes
1988/1989 Eamon Teehan
1989/1990 Alan Watson
1990/1991 Paul Hatton
1991/1992 Eddie Davis RIP

Past presidents
1992/1993 Kevin Nelson RIP
1993/1994 Joe Curry
1994/1995 Liam Power
1995/1996 John Moriarty
1996/1997 Pat Howlett
1997/1998 Eamon Teehan
1998/1999 Joe Pankhurst RIP
1999/2000 Joe Curry
2000/2001 Dermot O’Flynn RIP
2001/2002 Paul Hatton
2002/2003 Derek Leary
2003/2004 Larry Lohan
2004/2005 John Moriarty
2005/2006 Fergus O’Connor
2006/2007 Veronica Deignan
2007/2008 Derek Leary
2008/2009 Eamon Teehan
2009/2010 Kevin Nelson RIP
2010/2011 Martin Cummins
2011/2012 Dan Hurst RIP
2012/2013 Paddy Fitzgibbon
2013/2014 Declan Burton
2014/2015 Noel Corcoran
2015/2016 Breda O'Brien
2016/2017 Larry Lohan
2017/2018 Maureen Gibson
2018/2019 Eamon Teehan
2019/2020 Tom Forsyth
2020/2021 Joe Curry
2021/2022 Veronica Deignan

c/o 21 Watson Avenue, Killiney Co. Dublin
Landline: 01-2848340   Mobile: 086-2126303
Charity number CHY 15707
Dun Laoghaire Lions Club
Back to content