Golden Jubilee - Dun Laoghaire Lions Club

Go to content

Main menu:

Golden Jubilee


Dun Laoghaire Lions Club was chartered on February 17th 1969. Six charter members are welcomed to the golden jubileee celebration by District Governor Frank O'Donoghue (white jacket) and Club President Eamon Teehan. Front: Donn O'Shaughnessy, middle row Alan Watson and Gerry O'Mahony, back row Rodney Spence, Vincent Harte and Michael Kennedy
Dun Laoghaire Lions celebrate 50 years

Dun Laoghaire Lions Club was chartered in 1969. First President Gerry O'Mahony and fellow charter members joined current President Eamon Teehan and members of the Club for a golden jubilee celebration at the Royal Marine Hotel on Friday June 7th.

A highlight of the evening was the presentation of a charter chevron to charter member Donn O'Shaughnessy who received the award from District Governor Frank O'Donoghue.

In his address to members and guests, Frank O'Donoghue said he is 'quite in awe' of the achievements of Dun Laoghaire Lions Club. An example of this, he said, is the success of a current project which has raised more than €80,000 to provide a tranquility garden and other patient supports at the National Rehabilitation Hospital in Dun Laoghaire.

Receiving rehabilitation treatment at the hospital is Seán Cox, the Liverpool FC fan from Dunboyne who suffered life-changing injuries in a vicious and unprovoked attack prior to a Champions League match at Anfield last year.

Proceeds from advertising in the golden jubileee souvenir brochure and from a raffle and auction held on the night will go to support Seán Cox.

Club President Eamon Teehan thanked all the presidents and members through the years who have helped make Dun laoghaire Lions Club the success it is today. 'I have no doubt the Club will continue to thrive and prosper. We will strive to raise funds to help the needy, less fortunate amongst us'.

Progressive Melvin Jones Fellowships were presented by Frank O'Donoghue to Club members: Paddy Fitzgibbon, Declan Burton, Dan Hurst and Veronica Deignan. Melvin Jones Fellowships were presented to Club member Maire McGinley and Club supporters Seán Buckley (auctioneer), Anne Joyce (florist) and Paddy Walsh (printer).

Charter members in attendance were President Gerry O' Mahony, Secretary Michael Kennedy, Donn O'Shaugnessy, Vincent Harte, Rodney Spence and Alan Watson.

Back to content | Back to main menu